Last Updated:

Kia Super League


With the T20 World Cup just finished, the next piece of big news is that Kia (the car manufacturer) have agreed to the first ever standalone title sponsorship
for a domestic women’s cricket competition in England. This is huge news and a fantastic step forward for the game of Cricket and women’s Cricket around
the world.

The WCSL (Women’s Cricket Super League) will be made up of six teams:

Yorkshire Diamonds

Loughborough Lightning

Lancashire Thunder

Surrey Stars

Western Storm

Southern Stars

The competition will start on Saturday 30th July with Yorkshire Diamonds hosting the Loughborough Lightning at Headingley. The competition involves six
teams in a round-robin T20 competition format playing each other over the next fifteen days, with the finals being on Sunday 21st August at the Essex
County Ground, Chelmsford. The WCSL will expand from being a T20 event next year to include both T20 and 50-over formats.

Each of the six WCSL teams will have a squad of 15 players, consisting of a maximum of four centrally contracted England women’s players, three international/overseas
players, and a maximum of three England Women’s Academy players. The remainder of players will come from the England Women’s Development Programme
and a comprehensive county talent identification process. The ECB has worked very hard to ensure that the teams have a balance of skills in each side
which makes for a truly moutwatering competition.

Only eighteen international/overseas players were able to grab the slots available in the WCSL format from an original pool of sixty five who said they
would like to play in the competition. This just shows the desire for high level international women’s Cricket from both fans and players. With the
WBBL setting the pace in Australia it seems that we may just be on the edge of a very exciting future for women’s Cricket. It is difficult to single
out players who will be playing as “ones to watch” because these are the best of the best and all bring different things to the party. So all we can
do as fans is wait and enjoy the competition when it comes.

We will be interviewing and bringing exclusive stories over the competition to our readers and can’t wait for it to start!

The allocation of England and international players is below thanks to ECB:

TeamEngland WomenInternational Women
Lancashire ThunderKate Cross Sarah Taylor (captain) Danielle WyattSarah Coyte (Australia) Deandra Dottin (West Indies) Third signing to be confirmed
Loughborough LightningGeorgia Elwiss Rebecca Grundy Amy Jones

Beth Langston

Sophie Devine (New Zealand) Ellyse Perry (Australia) Dane van Nierkerk (South Africa)
Southern VipersCharlotte Edwards (captain) Natasha Farrant Lydia GreenwaySuzie Bates (New Zealand) Sara McGlashan (New Zealand) Megan Schutt (Australia)
Surrey StarsTammy Beaumont Laura Marsh Natalie Sciver (captain)Rene Farrell (Australia) Marizanne Kapp (South Africa) Meg Lanning (Australia)
Western StormHeather Knight (captain) Anya Shrubsole Fran WilsonLizell Lee (South Africa) Rachel Priest (New Zealand) Stafanie Taylor (West Indies)
Yorkshire DiamondsKatherine Brunt Jenny Gunn Danielle Hazell

Lauren Winfield (captain)

Alex Blackwell (Australia) Beth Mooney (Australia) Shabnim Ismail (South Africa)