Last Updated:

Euro 2013 final review


Germany vs. Norway

Starting Line Ups:

Germany: Angerer (c), Bartusiak, Maier, Krahn, Cramer, Laudehr, Kessler, Lotzen, Marozsán, Goessling, Okoyino Da Mbabi

Norway: Hjelmseth, Christensen, Akerhaugen, Mjelde, Rønning, Stensland(c), Gulbrandsen, Dekkerhus, Hansen, Hegland, Hegerberg

Germany were crowned Champions of Europe once again after a 1 – 0 win against Norway. Despite being written off as a young and inexperienced side prior to the tournament, Germany was to become the eventual winners of Euro 2013. A title they now hold since 1995.

With chances coming from either sides throughout the first half.  Norway were closest to scoring the opening goal as they were rewarded a penalty in the 29th minute. Germany’s Da Mbabi took down Catherine Dekkerhus in the German penalty area. Trine Rønning stood up to take the penalty as she hit the ball down the centre. Germany’s goalkeeper and Captain Nadine Angerer saved with an outstretched leg.

Both teams were level going into half time, Germany made their first substitution of the game as Mittag came in to replace Lotzen. The substitution quickly paid off as Mittag scored in the 49th minute. Da Mbabi on the break ran the length of the field before laying a ball into the path of an unmarked Mittag. Mittag made no mistake as she placed the ball past Norway’s Ingrid Hjelsmseth.

Norway had another penalty rewarded in the 61st minute, Gulbrandsen standing up this time for the side. Angerer came out on top again as the ball was drove down the middle, Angerer made guessing the correct side this time made a diving save to palm the shot away from danger. Norway finally got the ball past Angerer in the 64th minute only for it to be ruled offside.

Norway could not crack the German defence in the remainder of the game. A heroic and player of the match display from the experienced captain Angerer being the difference in the game as she lead her country to their sixth consecutive European title, individually her fifth Euro title with team mates who were winning their first the future is bright for the Germans.



Lotzen – Mittag (46)​​​Gulbrandsen – Thorsnes (68)