Last Updated:

Continental cup format and fixtures announced.


The format for the 2015 FAWSL Continental Cup has been announced and the big change from last year is that an extra round of knockout games has been added meaning that 8 teams will progress from the group stages instead of just 4 as in 2014. This will hopefully add more excitement to the group stage and produce less dead matches as teams fight to make the quarter finals. The teams that finish in the top two positions along with the two 3rd placed sides with the best records will advance to the knockout stages. The groups are the same as last year with the sides being split into 3 groups of 6 giving each side 5 games as they play the other teams in their group once.
Kelly Simmons, FA director of national game and women’s football, said: “We’ve looked to freshen up the competition this year and by introducing the extra knock-out stage, we think it will make the cup even more exciting for both supporters and clubs” “Continental Tyres have been a big supporter of the women’s game since the start of the FA WSL in 2011 and we look forward to working with them this season to make this season’s competition the best yet”.
Peter Robb, Continental Tyres UK, marketing communications manager, said: “Continental Tyres are delighted to be part of this exciting competition for the fifth year running, and we are looking forward to what promises to be the most successful tournament to date”. “The continual rise in attendance figures over recent tournaments clearly demonstrates the growing appetite for the Women's game in this country.
Our fifth season brings an even bigger tournament with the addition of an extra knock out round, putting even more focus on the teams’ performance, as they compete to be in the season’s concluding cup final.”
Group draw.
Group One
Arsenal, Chelsea, London Bees, Millwall Lionesses, Reading, Watford.
Group two
Doncaster Belles, Durham, Everton, Liverpool, Manchester City, Sunderland.
Group three
Aston Villa, Birmingham City , Bristol Academy, Notts County, Oxford United , Yeovil.
The Final date and venue will be announced in the coming weeks. More information about the competition and full fixture details can be found at